82194_3I am Marthe de Ferrer, a private tutor with 8 years’ experience working with clients in a range of subjects. The majority of my tutoring is online, using a range of platforms and websites. This allows me to reach the maximum number of students, without geographic restrictions.

I think it’s important for a tutor to know their limits. While I teach a range of subjects, I would be wary of any tutor or teacher who claims they can offer English literature A Level and undergraduate maths. For this reason I employ a growing team of top-tier tutors, who cover a vast array of subject areas. If you need support, I will have someone who can help. All my tutors are graduates from leading universities.

Educational background

  • MSc International Development with Social Anthropology – Birkbeck College, University of London
  • BA Education with English Literature (1st Class Hons) – St John’s College, University of Cambridge (2013-2016)
  • Charterhouse School (2010-2012)
  • Nonsuch High School for Girls (2005-2010)
  • Milbourne Lodge Prep School (2001-2005)
  • TEFL & CELTA certified
  • Enhanced & transferable DBS Check

At Cambridge I specialised in a range of niche subjects, including: sociology of gender in higher education, post-colonial theatre, New Zealand literature, philosophy of education, creativity and thinking, and sociolinguistics. This broad academic background has helped me as a tutor immensely, as I not only know my subjects inside out, but also how to teach effectively.

I have recently been completing an MSc in International Development and Social Anthropology from Birkbeck College (University of London) in the evenings alongside full-time work and tuition. For my master’s I have been predominantly researching the use of football to engage girls from slum communities in Mumbai with education, through the OSCAR Foundation.

Work Experience

Prior to my degree, I worked at a top prep school in Surrey full-time, where I supported KS1 and KS2, predominantly with literacy and humanities, but also across the rest of the curriculum too. Since graduating I initially worked as a researcher and a writer at the UK’s leading school support service, before moving into the third sector where I worked at one of the world’s largest NGOs, focusing mainly on educational projects and programmes. I have also worked in professional theatre and comedy production, across the UK, Europe, and North America.

Tutoring Background

Tutoring began for me when I was 16 as something fairly informal, it has grown to be a far bigger part of my life than I ever expected. I began with English Literature, which is still my favourite subject, and soon started teaching History, Spanish, Sociology, Philosophy, and more.

Since 2016 my client numbers have swelled, particularly as I have gained a successful reputation among parents looking for admissions support for elite independent schools and universities in the UK. Having attended Charterhouse School, and won places myself at a number of other top schools, I know the sector intimately – something which has allowed me to support my students effectively through the admissions process.

Additionally, I have grown the EFL side of my tutoring business, supporting students across the globe for whom English is not their first language. As a native English speaker, with TEFL and CELTA certification, I have worked with students from Hong Kong, China, Russia, Spain, Mexico, Malaysia, Japan, Poland, Finland, and many more. Some students have been based in the UK and want to improve their conversational English, while others have had specific coaching for examinations and interviews. Many of my students have taken the IELTS test, with one recent student improving from a 3.5 overall to 7 overall in the space of just six months!

Personal Background

I am based in Manchester (UK), having previously lived in Cambridge and London. I live with my wonderful rescue dog, Peggy, who is a firm favourite with many of my tutees – some of whom will even call her name during online lessons so she comes to say hello!

Away from work and education I love sport, having previously competed for Great Britain in flat-water kayaking, triathlon, and quadrathlon – although nowadays I prefer long-distance running (albeit extremely slowly). A lot of my background is also in theatre and comedy, having toured across the USA and Canada with the Cambridge Footlights, directed Shakespeare along the East Coast of the USA, and produced sell-out shows at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival.

I am a freelance journalist and writer, with bylines in the Guardian, Independent, HuffPost UK, New York Post, and more. I predominantly work in-house at the BBC.

As of April 2020, I am a producer at Euronews covering environmental news and features. However, I have continued to tutor alongside this role, while also supporting and managing my network of highly qualified tutors.